Quick Facts

Sister City Anniversary: January 1994


Ghana formely known as the Gold Coast, gained notoreity in the 19th century as a major port during the transatlantic slave trade. Recently the Danish government partnered with the Ga District, to build a museum in the Village of Sesimei to tell about Danish involvment there. This collaboration has created the first major tourist attraction in the Village of Sesimei.

The Ga District is in the Accra Metropolitan region. Accra is the capital city of Ghana.

The Ga District has grown from 170,000 people in 1994 to over 500,000 in 2009. As a result of this tremendous population growth, the region has now been divided into three municipal areas — Ga East, Ga West, and Ga South. Grand Rapids maintains a sister city relationship with Ga East and Ga West.

Economic Development

Agriculture and tourism are the major economic activities. Farmers grow pineapple and food staples. The government is working hard to bring in foreign investments to grow tourism and other industries. The area of Ghana around Ga District also contains a wealth of mineral resources, which the government is working to develop for the benefit of the people.

Tradition and Tourism

The culture of Ga District celebrates the long history of the people in song, dance and festivals. The Homowo Festival, recognizing the end of famine, is celebrated by people in the two districts. Local artisans produce textile (kente cloth, tye dye, and others), wood carvings and jewelry made of gold, bronze, beads and diamonds.

We hope that you will be inspired by the sights, sounds, and flavors that this sister city relationship relishes in.

Ga District Projects

Through participation in the program’s exchanges, residents have a unique opportunity to foster cultural understanding and communication with people from Ghana and around the world.

Ga District Committee

The Ga District committee is made up of a diverse group of people with a heart for the people and culture of Ghana. Their projects have focused on improving the daily lives of the people in that community.

2019 Committee Members

  • Laura B Moody – Chair
  • Nathaniel Moody
  • Mary Edmond
  • Ernestine Tolbert
  • Sharnice Floyd Eaton
  • Talib El’Amin
  • Patricia Pullium
  • Phillip Quarteys
  • Carolyn Tate


Stay connected to our sister city news and announcements with our blog. Click here to read our blog.